Back from Sharm, back from work.


Back to Riga, back to work, back to normal food, back to routine.

Two times this year I had the opportunity to visit Egypt (Sharm El-Sheikh), two times I wasn’t the one who decided that I should go there. Despite of huge amount of work, some negative aspects, it was nice experience, as it turned to look at some things from different prospective. However it is different story ,

so what about Egypt (Sharm El-Sheikh) ?

Sharm El-Sheikh is changed from the first visit at April 2007.

First it is airport, how much each city Airport can tell about the place. Despite of the fact, that our return flight was delayed for 3.5 hours (at least we were able to try Egyptian Hesburgers, Egyptian whooper is very nice). Airport was changed a lot, there is completely new terminal. In April there was cow-house (not Airport), the place where chaos was started. Now, they have pretty nice airport, all the procedures are the same, but at least it is more respectable.

They have new visas, instead of postmarks there is new big sticker visa. Mafia is not dead, 15$ for VISA where you have to wait a queue, 20$ for VISA without queue 🙂

Unfortunately, the most impressive thing for the previous visit, old Peugeot Taxis, are changed to new Korean cars. So trip from Hotel to town is not so interesting, like it was in April. Ehh. These Peugeot Taxis was the first thing that came into my mind, when I heard word Egypt.

As well do not go to Naama Bay, consider Old Market instead, as it is not possible to negotiate price for return to hotel journey, because all taxis are standing at the queue. Logically, that they are agreed about price, as there were queue about 50 taxis, it is not possible to get normal price and first taxi driver said “Look, I can stand here for 2 hours, it is not the problem for me. Others will wait for me”. If you will want to go without a queue, be careful as police is looking for such bad drivers.

So, need souvenirs at Sharm, go to Old Market. And never speak russian witgh them or be aware to pay in $, instead of LE (Egyptian pounds) for English speakers.

Hah, I’m lucky this time. Because illness called Montezuma’s Revenge (synonym for problems with stomach) has not affected me this time. However I was forced to select all the food carefully, one day I was so close to Montazuma’s, however I has a chance to escape from it.

Despite of the fact, that this time it was another hotel, that is used to be better one. Surprisingly, that even African inhabitants had problems with stomach.

As I two times visited Egypt, two times someone other payed for me. I’m asking a question, what kind of relaxation you can get from such resort. As after three four days stomach problems are attacking you.

Both times I has the opportunity to meet very nice people. First time I had the opportunity to spend all them time with colleagues and see them from different point. This time new people, that I have not meet before. Nice fact that they are all positive, so such event is very good charge of positive energy (despite of the fact that 4 of 6 days, we just came to hotel room and immediately went to sleep).

The last thing, I has opened new planet for me. It is called “Windows screensaver” planet, or underwater planet. Red Sea is great place for snorkeling, 3 days were started from underwater exploring. I recommend it to anyone, who visited Sharm. Get mask and go to swim underwater.

P.S. Home Sweet Home 😀

P.P.S. I has almost forgot how to drive the car and culture of the latvian drivers 😉

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Smerfs on November 26, 2007 at 9:15 am

    Nice, very nice story!
    I saw a picture of your (NR, yours) bathroom :DDDD very romantic

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sergejs on November 26, 2007 at 9:47 am

    Thank you 🙂
    Smerfs, it would be romantic in case there are man and woman, who are shared this room. Anyway I think that most of the hotel stuff thought that we are homos., nice bathroom agree (I think I will post image of the bathroom later).

    Reply

  3. Posted by Smeerfs on November 26, 2007 at 11:07 am

    Funny 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sergejs on November 26, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    No, it is not funny. It is torture, but anyway we had very nice time 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by rapsis on November 27, 2007 at 1:00 am

    Nice 🙂 Misplaced tenses but otherwise quite nice 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by Sergejs on November 27, 2007 at 8:23 am

    Thank you too.
    The problem for me for such large text to keep track on tenses all the time, but I will try to follow them in the future.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

