Hello from India I


I have arrived, during the flight I’ve read one phrase:

When I first visited India, I was stunned by the richness of the land, by it lush beauty and exotic architecture , by its ability to overload he senses with the pure, concentrated intensity of its colors, smells, tastes and sounds. It was as if all my life I had been seeing world in black and white and, when brought face to face with India, experiencing everything re-rendered…

– Keith Bellows, National Georgraphic Traveller

I do not think we will go anywhere else except Mumbai, though we will not see all the richness.

The first… no… the great impression, when go out from the airport, you are colliding with the crowd of hundreds of people, temperature from air condition +17 is chanted to +35, outlaw traffic and Indian smell. It is very hard to describe it with words.

There are only two places which are usual for europeans, well for all western people. Let’s name them used civilized. Airport and hotel.

Used civilization image is over, the things you see between the Mumbai Airport and Hotel, you will not see them anywhere in Europe. India has its own smell, air is full of smell.
Mumbai urban roads can shock any european, where else can you see on the road rickshaws, few cows, a lot of people sleeping near…

Mumbai roads

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by thebiglife on April 11, 2008 at 9:14 am

    India has this sort-of … acquired taste — either love it or hate it … I used to dislike the food because it was either too weird or too smelly.

    Reply

  2. it is different of Egypt? I mean trafic, smells and tastes?

    Reply

  3. Thebiglife, yes I totally agree with you, that is India, either love or hate it ! But the things you see India, you will not see anywhere in Europe or North America. India food is different !

    Liencha, Egypt. Hm, Egypt is more like for tourist, especially Sharm El Sheikh, Cairo is closer to Mumbai by atmosphere, but Cairo is full of tourists.
    Mumbai is different completely different, smells and tastes are also different, Egypt smells are more european.

    Reply

  4. Traffic completely crazy, no traffic lights no rules, just ring.

    Reply

  5. Interesting how India is compared to Cairo…!!I think they are both quite different !!!

    Reply

  6. No, you cannot compare India to Cairo. I want to say that Cairo has more authentic places, then Sharm El Sheikh. In fact India is just another world. I was never imagined, India is what I see now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

