The difference between Google and Yahoo.


Recently I started to think to switch to from Google to Yahoo.

As far as I’m using Google, it takes time to dig the valuable searched page. Especially, when I’m searching for the stuff, that I use for work, different topics about networking. Usually, I’m able to find satisfied result at >3 pages.
However, some things are really screwing me out. Ok, I agree that Google is very popular and some bad guys found ‘backdoors’ to force specific to be shown up on the top), but anyway 😦
1) I’ve installed Inquisitor (that is called Spotlinght the Web, something similar to the tool that is built-in into Firefox.
So I select Yahoo, as main search engine,
a) when you write ‘cuka’, check the results for Yahoo ,

Cuka1

b) check Google result (F***),
Cuka2

2) Let’s go further and make one more trick, that I have discovered some time ago. When you write why windo, then interesting auto-completion occurs, but Yahoo is more positive (some alternative suggestions are given),

a) Yahoo results,
Wind

b) when Google is sure about the results (the same completion occurs by the way),
Wind2
Ok, I will try Yahoo for some time.

4 responses to this post.

  1. nice 🙂 but I like google homepage better. nice and simple

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sergejs on January 9, 2008 at 10:26 am

    yeah, yahoo page is full of trash (ads), that could be disturbing, but if you use integrated tool like inquisitor, usually you can bypass these ads.

    as well as Janis K (Osis) said it lacks latvian localization and translation.
    Ok, I was able to find how to search for pages in Latvian for Yahoo, but it took time to get it done 🙂

    I like google page, their offered services, but search results sometimes are not acceptable. Ok, I agree, it could be subjective.

    Reply

  3. every stick has 2 ends 🙂 so, google is very popular but many people take advantage on this and they fool google indexing so they site appear first in the results. Some sites target multiple search engines.

    I once came across search engine (it is still in alpha) where you could rate how good is the result it found, just, do not remember its name 😦

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sergejs on January 9, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    yes, Osis, agree, that some people are happy that their (sometimes crappy) pages are present at the top 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment