How, Mr. Boginskis (almost) purchased first gadget from e-bay.


I have used to avoid purchasing things from e-bay.

This Friday I was at the payment confirmation, then some mysterious forces told me to stop.

We have checked the device, that I was going to purchase and concluded that it is not possible to use it in my country for now. Ok, you may use it, but it would lack main functionality.

There was such great plan to make a gift for Christmas. This magic thing is called usual Phone.

Unfortunately I’m living in the country, where this phone will not be available for official purchase (IMHO), as I think our market is not too attractive to present it here.

I would take it with or without contract from official store, if I would live in the country (where this phone is available). But it is not available in Latvia. Huh, actually it is available on some Internet stores, double or even 3x price for device, that officially does not work and you need to take certain actions to get it work. In other words to promote device from nice looking brick player to mobile telephone. So, our Internet stores are not looking like “good guys”, isn’t it ?

So, there is an alternative opportunity to purchase phone/gadget from e-bay (nice). You have to add shipping and some other expense to get the “brick player” (I believe our Internet stores use the similar method to full their stock ;), but Internet stores price is unreachable anyway.

So, I almost clicked “purchase”, if I would click, then I would get iBrick.

As currently, this device is shipped with firmware version 1.1.2 (e-bay sellers offer phones with that version), but it is not possible to transform it to phone in countries like mine (if the information is correct on some pages).

Unfortunately.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by rapsis on December 11, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    well I know one person who bought this “allmighty” magical phone. At least he was about to fill a way bill for this gadget several weeks ago. I can ask if he has bought it and how does it work 🙂 I know I’ve told before that I would like to have it but I am about to change my mind. Cellphone should be small in my opinion. Small enough to put it in my pocket and it stays invisible :). A brick in my pocket is not an option 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by rapsis on December 12, 2007 at 8:35 am

    Yep, he has bought it for almost 400 Ls and everything is working as it should. Though it hasn’t been released officially here so it is cracked and u can not upgrade it’s firmware for a while. Apple is selling this “miracle” for $399 (Two-year activation agreement with AT&T required). So I wouldn’t say that it is three times cheaper than here. I couldn’t find price for IPhone with no restrictions, but I guess it is more than $399. So it is not even twice as cheap as here 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sergejs on December 12, 2007 at 8:47 am

    hmm, Latvian stores offer this phone for 440Ls – 500 Ls, even more at the start.
    Latvian sold phones have 1.1.1 firmware version, new one come with 1.1.2.
    Ebay price is from 450$ +30-40$ shipping (due to $ exchange rates it is pretty cheaper), you just need to go to one page, all instructions are given there, how to get it working in any country.

    Unlocked iPhones available at France and Germany, if I’m not mistaken price is 600Eu.

    We also have one person, who owns iPhone, he received it from US for normal price.

    Reply

  4. Posted by rapsis on December 12, 2007 at 9:35 am

    Well, he bought it here for about 390 Ls and firmware version is 1.1.2 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sergejs on December 12, 2007 at 9:40 am

    Firstly it was repaired then Upgraded to 1.1.2 firmware, so seller got the phone with 1.1.1.
    Then most likely seller did illegall stuff for him.

    Where did he get such price ?

    Reply

  6. Posted by rapsis on December 12, 2007 at 12:26 pm

    It does not matter what firmware seller got. What matters is that he has 1.1.2 firmware. Actually he bought it as a legal person (as a representative person of his company). So it came with the way bill and should be quite legal, I guess. I’ll try to find out what company did sell it.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Sergejs on December 12, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    Sim unlock is not possible, if 1.1.2 version phone come from factory.

    Sim unlock is possible, when phone came with 1.1.1, you unlock sim and upgrade to 1.1.2.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

